View of Kenyon's Corn Stores on Ackroyd Street. A man and woman stand by the door. This long standing business originated in 1877 when John Kenyon, after 23 years experience as a woollen spinner at Peel Mill, bought a grocer's and off-licence shop at the end of Annie Street. Over the next 10 years he became a noted authority on poultry keeping and plants. Kenyon was elected to Morley Council in 1887 but died suddenly in 1894 aged 61. The business was continued by his son Horace, who expanded the corn distributing, poultry and vegetable growing side of the business in premises on Ackroyd Street. After Horace's death in 1927 the off-licence shop passed from the family business but the corn store and food stuff supply continued under Mrs Annie Kenyon, with Joseph Mackintosh as manager. Mackintosh purchased the business when Mrs Kenyon died in 1946, and was joined by his sons Albert & Keith . The business continued to expand becoming a major distributor of feeding for animals and fertilisers, and new modern premises were built on the Ackroyd Street site in 1965. The business still exists today (2007).
Corrections:Corrections are welcomed by the department. Corrections will be verified before appearing on the site - this may take up to 4 weeks.