Image shows Bank Street from the direction of Boar Lane, photographed by A. Macaulay for the City Engineers. It shows property owned by Joseph Conyer who had a shoe and leather warehouse at number 42 Boar Lane, on the corner with Bank Street. Bank Street gets it name from the location of the first Bank of England in 1827. Bank Street ran from Commercial Street to Boar Lane (between number 42 Boar Lane and Trinity Street.) This site is presently (2012) in the process of being developed as the iconic new retail centre, Trinity Leeds, with frontages on Boar Lane, Briggate, Commercial Street and Albion Street.
Corrections:Corrections are welcomed by the department. Corrections will be verified before appearing on the site - this may take up to 4 weeks.